Reflection on Giving and Receiving Feedback – Part 2

I found receiving feedback incredibly useful in this second stage of my blog.  Posting my presentation online was quite daunting however, receiving feedback from Sheryl made my feel more confident about my presentation and provided valuable advice in terms of factors to consider further in the discussion of my results.  Her feedback on factors such as the size of my class, ability levels and comparison in student performance compared to other tasks, enabled my to consider factors that I had not realised the audience would need to know.  Responding to her questions also provided information that other readers will be able to view when visiting my blog.  I also found that viewing the presentations of my group members and considering how the task descriptors applied to their work was useful in raising points and ideas that I had not considered in my own work.

Although I have valued working in a peer-feedback team, at times this has been difficult  as again, we are completing the stages of our inquiry at different times.  However, It is productive to receive feedback and ideas from peers who are working in a similar subject field but are not familiar with the specific context of my school – as they consider factors that I may assume they would already know.  While giving and receiving feedback from the two members in my group was valuable in terms of  allowing me to consider aspects that would enhance my work in regards to the assessment requirements, I found that receiving verbal feedback from members of the instructional team and other staff within my school allowed me to consider how I could further develop my ILA in future years and across various aspects of the school.

Discussing the scaffolding and inquiry approach in my results section prompted further discussion of this with the instructional team (Teacher-Librarians) and Head of the Social Science Department and has prompted us to draft a whole-school scaffolding and inquiry approach.  Once developed, this in turn will lead to further discussion with other departments within the school and allow us to be proactive in ensuring we are catering for the information needs of students in the twenty-first century.

Overall, giving and receiving feedback from professionals with a variety of specialities was incredibly important in terms of helping me consider, evaluate and enhance the aspects of my ILA.

Tags: , ,

About Kathryn Schravemade

Head of Library. Technology Integrator. Digital Innovator. Inquiry Learning & Beagle Enthusiast. Google Certified Teacher. Learner. Follow me: @katschrav

Leave a comment